Review of Polaroid Variable range Neutral Density ND filter

I don’t usually do product reviews, but I felt compelled to show others how bad the picture quality can be with a cheap filter. DO NOT buy Polaroid variable Range ND filter! It degrades the video and pictures greatly! I just didn’t know how much until I saw the ‘before and after’ picture of a simple test.

5 comments on “Review of Polaroid Variable range Neutral Density ND filter

  1. wish i’d read this first but i was too excited to find an ”affordable” variable range filter. my filter is clear enough but it badly distorts the colors. at the minimum setting, it adds a bunch of yellow to the image. at the maximum setting it removes a bunch of yellow from the image. i tried to call technical support and their phone number wanted me to leave a message in some random voice mail box?!?! that sealed the deal for me – this is just what used to be a dependable company trying to make $$$ via cheap crap and lousy customer service. i’m returning my filter today… thanks again for your review!

    • Yup, I was pretty excited to order this item since almost all of them cost well over 100 bucks. What a piece of crap though. If you ever find a good one for affordable price, please let me know! šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the review. I think I bought the Genus Fader for my 24 1.4 but was looking for a cheaper option. I guess I am back to the expensive filter, I am very happy with the results from the Genus.

    • I just received a $70 ND filter. I will test it out pretty soon and perhaps do a review. I guess we all have to learn the hard way that cheap isn’t necessarily better, especially for something that goes in front of nice glass.

Leave a comment