50 miles on my 50th birthday

It took super human efforts to run the last 3 miles, but I finished! 50 miles on 50th birthday. How cool is that?
It all started 5 months ago, when the would-be-coach Karen Pearson mentioned 100 mile races she participated in. I jokingly said, “If you find such race in Israel, I will run it,” thinking that the country is too small to have such thing. She found one the next day. Me and my big mouth!
I then told her that I will take a baby step and run and 50 miler on my birthday for starters. The rest if history.
The training schedule was manageable, running no more than 10 miles on weekdays, then long runs on Fridays, my days off.
It didn’t really get in the way of anything.
I really can’t believe I ran 50 miles. It took 12 long hours, but heck, I will take it. It was the hardest physical thing I have ever done, but one of the most rewarding.
coachNme

Leave a Reply

