High contrast, over saturated colors, super sharp render

I’ve been trying for months to get over saturated super contrast/sharp look on outdoor video without losing too much detail in shadows. I was not very successful until yesterday.
I overexposed the footage by 1 stop, so the shadows have some range. The setting I used are,
High tone priority
sharpness:4, contrast: 0, Saturation: 1, Color tone, middle.
In FCP, I cranked up contrast, saturation and sharpness as needed. The result is hyper look, but that’s what I was going for. It ALMOST looks like film. Red One is my ultimate toy, but I have to tell myself that it’s ‘good enough’ at certain point. The look I am getting from T2i, after color grading, is quite good enough for my intended purpose of emulating film and for use of graphics compositing.

Leave a Reply

