Panasonic Lumix GH2 under the sunlight

I usually work on Saturdays, but I decided to take a day off and bring my two sons to a 2011 California Yo-Yo contest. I “lost” money in doing so, but heck, life if short. They are growing up fast and the main thing they are going to remember me by is me working on weekends, and I probably would do anything to buy those times back. They really enjoyed the outing, and as usual, I could not resist video’ing the surrounding with my new toy — GH2. The footage didn’t look so good on a cheap Panny viewfinder while filming, but the actual turned out much better than I thought it would. I opened the kit lens all the way up at ISO 160 and adjusted the shuttle speed accordingly, between 1/50 to 1/125. Everything was shot flat as possible (-2 in everything) and color graded with Magic Bullet Looks and Colorista II afterwards. Most Magic Bullet users tend to oversaturate everything because they can. My goal is to simply enhance the footage, making it pleasing to the eyes, but not so much that it’s obvious that it’s color manipulated. That’s the problem with many block buster movies lately as well. Colorists tend to show off their skills rather than enhancing the footage.

Leave a comment